A Poem for the New Year…

REVELRY AND RESOLUTION

Celebrate: to observe (a day) or
commemorate (an event) with ceremonies or festivities…

Something in me hides at the word,
climbs down into the conning tower
of its own perceptions

and bangs shut the hatch.

(Sound of battening,
whatever that is,
and the tightening of bolts.)

Revelry: revelling; boisterous festivity…

That’s even worse.

Crash dive.

Air shrieks through the vents.
Plumes of vapour hang over the swiftly sinking deck.
Bow planes
pivot from stowage,
prepare to bite the pale sea.

Twenty fathoms down
the submarine Resolution,
on course for the deep ocean,
shifts to silent running.

 

© Mike Farley, 2013

3 thoughts on “A Poem for the New Year…

    1. Owen Swain

      A blessed new year back at you :). I know I sometimes confuse my fellow Catholics when I show little interest in attending Adoration that is accompanied by praise and worship music. I’m not against it, no, I’m simply not in that place. Rather, when I come before the Blessed Sacrament, our Lord, I am much more in the space that is noted in the Barclay quote that is in the masthead of this blog.

      Reply

Leave a comment