On not holding back

Do not assume that vocal ministry is never to be your part. Faithfulness and sincerity in speaking, even very briefly, may open the way to fuller ministry from others. When prompted to speak, wait patiently to know that the leading and the time are right, but do not let a sense of your own unworthiness hold you back. Pray that your ministry may arise from deep experience, and trust that words will be given to you. Try to speak audibly and distinctly, and with sensitivity to the needs of others. Beware of speaking predictably or too often, and of making additions towards the end of a meeting when it was well left before.

Advices & Queries No. 13

It’s been somewhat quiet around this blog. We’ve been in the throes of arranging to move house, with all the endless bureaucracy that involves, and I’ve been rehearsing with a new band for our first gig, which is always a bit – all right, very – scary.

Our local Quaker Meeting tries to choose one of the 42 Advices and Queries each week to ponder.I think I’m going to try to write a little about my own ponderings here, if only to try and inject some regularity into the posts.

This week No.13 was chosen. I have to confess that I am one of those who rarely gives vocal ministry. I don’t think I am held back by any undue sense of my own unworthiness or anything like that – I am just naturally silent in worship, and my love of silence and prayer seems to come through in meeting. But I suppose I should pray to be more involved in ministry – if nothing else, I should be prepared to share that love, and the long, deep yearning from which it stems.

Leave a Reply

